Home > Cold As Bryce Moments, Finance, Relationships > Cold As Bryce Moments – Is That Enough To Keep You Happy?

Cold As Bryce Moments – Is That Enough To Keep You Happy?

Well, I know it’s been a while since I’ve written an entry and I’m sure by the title and photo above, you know where this entry is going.  Yes, the recent divorce of one of my favorite emcees and Hip-Hop legend, Nas, the ensuing divorce of one Mr. Eldrick Tont “Tiger” Woods and also a good friend of mine from graduate school, who is going through a divorce has influenced me to write.  Not particularly on divorce per se, but on the financial cleansing that ensues from it.

This entry is more about the question, “Is that enough to make you happy?”.  I remember this question from Marvin Gaye’s Here My Dear album, which had a song by the name of ‘Is That Enough’ I’m sure by now you’ve heard about the divorce settlement between Nas and Kelis and the projected settlement between Tiger and Elin Woods.  I get that allegedly Nas cheated on Kelis in the marriage and it’s safe to say that Tiger did the same, but with multiple hoes women…and that sucks (no jumpoff) and that friend of mine that’s going through divorce that I spoke of…let’s just say from what he told me, it’s a big misunderstanding (his words, not mine).  I guess my question is,  when does marital indiscretions (or alleged indiscretions) become financial decimation to the 5th power…or more?  Now before you roll your eyes (yeah, you…lol), I’m not saying that these men don’t deserve to reap the consequences of their actions – let me be clear, THEY WERE WRONG, but $750 Million, Elin?  Word?

Now, I’ve never been married, but I would like to get on bended knee one day and profess my love and admiration for the intelligent, funny, stylish, big-bootied, nurturing and beautiful woman of my dreams.  A lot of men would, but when you perpetually see the ramification of a marriage gone wrong for WHATEVER reason, despite your optimism you wonder could that possibly be your fate.  I’m not saying this is right, but it is real. 

You take a man who has done pretty good for himself, he’s educated, gainfully employed or gainfully employs other people.  Man meets woman, they fall in love and maybe have a kid or two. All’s great right? Right.  Hopefully so, but if not that man that’s done pretty good for himself could be living out of a cardboard box with the moonroof – to wish upon a star (no Disney).

We’ve seen it time and time and time again about men amassing a fortune (or just a regular cat that’s done well for himself) and marries a woman and for whatever reason they get a divorce and the woman takes a HUGE amount of the man’s assets, cash AND the “good” car/truck.  Now, correct me if I’m wrong and I’m not the biggest spectator of golf, but to my knowledge the only 9 iron that Elin Woods swung was at Tiger’s head…allegedly.  I’m not even saying these women don’t deserve a payout for their emotional damage and humiliation, but d@mn…when is enough gonna make you happy?  Is it out of spight? Hurt? Anger?  Ironically, if the reverse were to happen and the wife was wealthy…the guy would be looked at as a bum for taking half or more of her fortune as a result of the divorce, but I guess that’s just the double-standard boomerang hitting men in the back of the head.

Anyway, I’m getting away from my original question…why does the dissolvement of a marriage turn into potential financial ruin?  When is enough, enough?  Do you think the current state of divorce and it’s effects has caused people (read: men) to be a bit apprehensive about jumping the broom (my boy says if they can’t work it out, he’s NEVER getting married again)?

I’ll leave y’all with some of this Marvin Gaye while you think it over.  Listen to the words…

Bryceness – Mr. Not-So-Nice Guy

  1. J -Boogie
    July 2, 2010 at 7:34 PM

    Good one Bryceness ….. Good one. (Wait I hope my girl don’t see my comments!! LMAO)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

